The 10 Commandments List | What are the Ten Commandments in the Bible?


The 10 Commandments List | What are the Ten Commandments in the Bible?

The Old Testament, contains 613 commands given by God for His people to follow. These commands or laws cover three categories: Civil Laws, Ceremonial Laws, and Moral Laws.  Let’s focus on 10 Commandments, also known as the Decalogue, or the Moral Laws.

The 10 commandments list were given by God, to Moses, to be followed by the Nation of Israel. The entire list is found in two places, Exodus 20:1–17 & Deuteronomy 5:6–21. It’s also worth mentioning, all of the Ten Commandments are repeated in the New Testament, with the exception of the 4th commandment.

The 10 Commandments list can be divided into two parts. Commandments 1-4, focus on man’s relationship with God, and commandments 5-10, focus on man’s relationship with others.

The First Commandment is (Exodus 20:3),

“You shall have no other God’s before me.”

Meaning, worship the one true God, only.

The Second Commandment is (Exodus 20:4),

“You shall not make for yourself a carved image…”

This means, don’t worship or bow down to anything, in place of God.

The Third Commandment is (Exodus 20:7),

“You shall not take the name of the Lord your God in vain…”

This means, do not use God’s name irreverently or disrespectfully.

The Forth Commandment is (Exodus 20:8),

“Remember the Sabbath day, to keep it holy.”

This means, rest from work on the 7th day of the week, and remember what God has done.

The Fifth Commandment is (Exodus 20:12),

“Honor your father and mother…”

This means, respect the authority and role of our parents.

The Sixth Commandment is (Exodus 20:13),

“You shall not murder.”

This means, do not take the life of another unlawfully.

The Seventh Commandment is (Exodus 20:14),

“You shall not commit adultery.”

This means, keep the marriage relationship sacred, and free of infidelity.

The Eighth Commandment is (Exodus 20:15),

“You shall not steal.”

This means, do not take what does not rightfully belong to you.

The Ninth Commandment is (Exodus 20:16),

“You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor.”

This means, uphold justice in a trail, and only report the truth.

The Tenth Commandment is (Exodus 20:17),

“You shall not covet…”

This means, do not allow your heart to long for and crave what is not yours.


Those are the Ten Commandments. To find out why did God give them, and if we need to follow them, watch the next video! Hint? Jesus changed everything!

Subscribe for Weekly Video Devotionals!

Subscribe Here: https://goo.gl/ZSNuoc